• Jessie

  • Contact Me

    contact me
  • RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

You never know . . .

A concept that has been reinforced during my transition:

One never know what is going to happen, when it is going to happen, or why it is going to happen. One will question all of these things, but if it is meant to take place, then it will force itself upon you regardless of how much one denies it, does not believe they are capable of completing it, or are in denial of it. Every experience is a learning experience and an opportunity to grow.

My rushed move to D.C. has proven to be a great opportunity. I enjoy my internship, I’m experiencing a part of the U.S. that I have never experienced before, and now I’m going to experience Rotaract in D.C.!

Here are a few updates on some of my happenings:

Ambassadorial Scholar Year Track:
– In the next few days will begin filling out my application to apply to the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile in the program of International Relations for my year abroad.
– I have also been in contact with another ambassadorial scholar who will be studying at the same institution, in the same program, during the same time. We have been helping each other out by keeping each other posted and letting the other know about our findings during our preparations.

Rotaract:
– I’ve been in contact with the Rotaract Club of Washington DC and I plan on attending their next meeting! I’m very excited.
– I hope to attend the Rotary Day at the United Nations in November! I think it will be a wonderful opportunity to experience the history and role of Rotary at the UN.

MicroLending:
– I have sent various emails informing Rotarians and other contacts about the University of St. Thomas MicroCredit Program Fundraiser, which will be held on Thursday, October 8 at 7pm at the University of St. Thomas. To learn more about this program please visit: http://www.stthom.edu/microcredit.